The Franciscan Crown or Rosary

      The Franciscan Crown Rosary begins quite simply by stating the first Mystery and then praying one Our Father and ten Hail Marys while meditating upon it.
       This same procedure is then followed for the other six Mysteries. Even though it is common practice nowadays to add the Glory Be at the end of each decade, and even the Fatima Prayer, these are not required.
       It is customary to finish by adding two Hail Marys in honor of the 72 years that Our Lady is said to have lived on earth, and one Our Father and Hail Mary for the intentions of the Pope.
Story of the Franciscan Crown
The story of the Rosary of the Seven Joys of the Blessed Virgin dates back to the early 15th century. A pious young man named James had been accustomed to adorning a beautiful statue of Mary with a crown of flowers, which he had picked and woven himself. He later entered the Franciscan Order, but either because of a lack of time or permission, he was no longer able to continue this devotion. Distraught because of this, he decided to abandon the religious life and return to the world.

Our Lady then appeared to him and convinced him not to leave the order. She told him that he should not be downcast because he was no longer permitted to adorn her statue, for she would teach him a way to give her honor which was much more pleasing and meritorious. Instead of a crown of flowers, which quickly wither, he was to weave a crown of prayers, and these prayers could be offered at any moment. She then taught him the Rosary of the Seven Joys, adding that these prayers would not only form a more acceptable crown, but they would also yield innumerable graces for himself and others.

This simple but beautiful devotion of praying the Crown of the Seven Joys of the Blessed Virgin soon spread over the entire Franciscan Order and was officially established in 1422.

The Franciscan Crown Rosary
(Any day but let's pray it
especially on Marian Feast days)

  1. The Blessed Virgin Mary joyfully conceived Jesus by the Holy Spirit
  2. The Blessed Virgin Mary joyfully carried Jesus in her womb to visit her cousin Elizabeth
  3. The Blessed Virgin Mary joyfully gave birth to the Son of God, Jesus
  4. The Blessed Virgin Mary joyfully presented Jesus for Adoration to the Magi
  5. The Blessed Virgin Mary joyfully found Jesus in the Temple after his being lost for three days
  6. The Blessed Virgin Mary joyfully beheld Jesus after His Resurrection
  7. The Blessed Mother joyfully assumed with body and soul into heaven as she was joyfully crowned by Jesus as Queen of Heaven and Earth.
        to: Prayer Index |

Home | Tidbits & Updates | Prayer Index | LOTH Tutorial | Chaplaincy Ministry | Deacon Jim | Other Ministries with Deacon Jim | Back Cover Page | Thanks and Acknowledgement | Pilgrimage pictures | Greetings | Welcome to CMLLE | Original CMLLE Pages |

Go meet the Lord in the Silence and just listen and pour your heart to him in the Blessed Sacrament!